MENU

portalflorida.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


How to Get a Learners Permit in Florida

Drivers who are younger than 18 years of age must obtain a Florida learners permit, also called a learners license, before they can apply for a drivers license. The FL learners drivers license is not a full drivers license, but rather a permit for driving for first-time drivers to gain practice and experience on the road before gaining full privileges. Driving with a DMV learners permit in Florida comes with certain requirements and restrictions. The requirements for learners permit credentials and learners permit rules in Florida are determined by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

Eligibility Requirements for Learners Permits in Florida

One of the first learners permit questions often asked is, “Am I eligible for a learner’s permit?” In order to get learners permit in Florida, the applicant must be a legal resident of the state. The FL learners permit applicant must be at least 15 years of age and no older than 18 years of age. One of the requirements for learners permits in Florida is that the applicant must have completed a certified driver’s education course. The Florida DHSMV learners permit driver’s ed program is called a Traffic Laws and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. This course may be completed online or in a classroom setting, as long as the course provider is certified by the Florida DMV.

To obtain a DHSMV drivers permit, candidates must also pass the Vision test and the Class E Knowledge exam, which is also known as the written drivers test. Often, learners drivers license applicants take the written drivers test as part of the TLSAE course, either online or in a classroom setting. If this is not the case, learners permit applicants can either take the exam in person at a DHSMV office or with an approved third-party testing center, either online or in person. Drivers can find study materials for the learners permit online, including the DHSMV’s Official Handbook for the Florida Class E Drivers License.

How to Get a Learners Permit in Florida

Once a prospective driver has completed the learners permit TLSAE course and met all other eligibility requirements, he or she can visit the DHSMV drivers license office to complete the application process and obtain the learners license. Candidates wondering where to get learners permit in Florida can easily locate their nearest drivers license office online. Applicants can make an appointment to receive a Florida permit for driving using the DHSMV Online Appointment Service and Information System. Applicants can begin the application for the learners permit online before visiting the DHSMV if they wish to save time. If not, petitioners will complete the FL DHSMV drivers permit application in person during the visit to the DHSMV.

At the time of application, Florida DMV learners permit applicants can also take the required vision test, which will be administered at the DHSMV. Candidates who have not completed the written Class E Knowledge learners permit test may be able to take one at the time of application, as long as they schedule it in advance. Candidates who passed the DMV drivers permit test through an approved third-party do not need to bring evidence of passing, since it will be entered into the DHSMV’s test records database.

When applying for a learners permit in FL, applicants must submit required documentation to their local drivers license office. To get a learners permit in Florida, applicants must present proof of competing a certified Driver’s Education course. Applicants will receive a certificate that they can present as proof of course completion. Candidates must also submit the State of Florida DHSMV Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor. When getting a learners permit, a parent or legal guardian must sign the form in the presence of a DHSMV representative. However, the application can be notarized beforehand if the parent or guardian cannot be present for the application in the DHSMV office. Step-parents are not authorized to give consent, unless they have legally adopted the applicant. If an applicant is younger than 18 years of age is legally married, then he or she does not have to submit the form. Applicants can obtain the form online or when applying for a learners permit at the Florida DHSMV office. Applicants must also present proof of identity and a Social Security card, if they have been issued one.

One of the last steps for getting a learners permit in Florida is to pass a vision and hearing test. If the candidate meets all FL learners permit eligibility requirements, he or she will obtain the learners license after paying a learners permit fee, which is currently $48.

Learners Permit Rules in Florida


While driving with a learners permit in Florida, the driver will have to follow certain restrictions. When a motorist is driving with a DHSMV learners permit, he or she must have a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age must be in the passenger’s seat, or the closest seat to the driver’s right side, at all times. For the first three months of driving with a learners permit, the driver may only drive during daylight hours. After three months, the driver may drive until 10 p.m.

It might also interest you: