MENU

portalflorida.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


How to Get a Motorcycle License in Florida

A Florida motorcycle drivers license or a motorcycle endorsement is essential for motorbike drivers in the state. A motorcycle license is required for the qualifying vehicles outlined in state statutes. Florida drivers may apply for a full bike license separate from their regular drivers license or they may choose to simply apply for an endorsement. Motorists wondering where to get motorcycle license credentials can contact their local branch of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV or FLHSMV). The DHSMV can also inform motorbike drivers of motorcycle helmet regulations.

Florida Motorcycle Endorsement and Licensing

Drivers wondering, “How can I get a motorcycle license in Florida?” must first understand the difference between a license and a license endorsement. With a Florida motorbike endorsement, drivers must first hold a regular class E operating license issued by the DHSMV. When drivers successfully fulfill the motorcycle endorsement requirements, they must pay for a reissued driving license that will indicate the driver is legally permitted to operate a motorcycle. The DHSMV also offers a motorcycle only license for Florida drivers. This type of motorcycle license is strictly for the operation of a motorbike and cannot authorize the driver to operate another type of motor vehicle. An endorsement for motorcycle driving is useful for drivers who already hold a standard driving license and do not use the motorcycle frequently or as a primary mode of transportation. A full motorcycle license is a better option for a driver who uses his or her motorcycle as his or her only form of personal transportation.

Motorcycle License Requirements in Florida

To get motorcycle license credentials, you must adhere to DHSMV guidelines and state regulations. Due to the particularly risky nature of motorcycle operation, your Florida motorbike driving license application process includes age restrictions, knowledge testing and driving practice. A Florida license for motorcycle operation is a major responsibility that you must take seriously to protect yourself and the drivers around you. Drivers with a motorcycle license between the ages of 16 and 21 must wear a motorcycle helmet. Additionally, drivers with motorcycle licensing above the age of 21 who do not have adequate medical coverage covering up to $10,000 must continue to wear a helmet as well.

Age Requirements

A DMV motorcycle license in Florida is not available to drivers under the age of 16 years. Drivers applying for motorcycle license credentials who are between the ages of 16-and-17-years-old must hold a learner’s permit for at least one year with no traffic violations before they can apply for a full motorcycle license. To get an FL motorbike endorsement instead of a full license, drivers must first hold a regular driving license.

Education Requirements

Getting your motorcycle license in Florida also requires you to pass the mandatory knowledge testing and the practical driving exam. Drivers applying for a motorcycle license must pass a driving knowledge test that includes road sign identification, passing, road sharing tips and other Florida driving standards. Drivers may take the knowledge test for a motorcycle license online or in person at an FLHSMV office or with an authorized testing provider as they would for a regular driving license. The Florida motorcycle license application process also requires drivers to take a practical driving course called the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or the Basic RiderCourse updated (BRCu). These courses allow motorcycle license applicants to practice the basic driving skills needed to safely drive a motorcycle. The motorcycle driving courses also include instructions from authorized coaches who can teach practical driving skills, like turning and braking. A DHSMV motorcycle license rider course can also provide mental exercises for dealing with hazardous or emergency situations, as well as emphasize the importance of wearing a motorcycle helmet.

Fees

Motorcycle license cost totals include the fees associated with license issuing or reissuing, costs associated with the BRC or BRCu courses and endorsement fees. Drivers applying for a motorcycle license should check with the FLHSMV website or with their local FLHSMV office for specific price listings on license issuance and endorsement. Costs for motorcycle license driving classes may vary by location, so drivers should shop around for a course for the best prices and reviews.

Florida Motorcycle License Application Process

To get an FL motorcycle license or endorsement, drivers must make sure they pass the driving knowledge test or have a class E driving license and meet the necessary age requirements. The knowledge exam results for a motorcycle license are automatically sent to the DHSMV database, so drivers do not need to bring physical confirmation of the passing grade. Drivers must also pass the BRC or BRCu course and inform their local FLHSMV office of successful completion. For Florida motorcycle endorsements, drivers have up to one year to apply after they pass the test. Otherwise, the waiver from the BRC course is invalid and drivers cannot use it to get their motorcycle endorsement and they must start the process over again. Drivers getting a full motorcycle license must simply inform the FLHSMV office about the course completion, apply for their new license and make sure to bring accepted forms of payment to cover motorcycle license costs. Motorists requesting a motorcycle license or endorsement must also bring the necessary identifying documentation, including their birth certificate, proof of Social Security Number and two proofs of Florida residency.

It might also interest you: