MENU

portalflorida.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


How to Get a New Driver License in Florida

First-time drivers obtaining a Florida drivers license must follow the rules and regulations determined by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). The DHSMV handles drivers license services, including the new drivers license application process. Prospective drivers must submit a drivers license application and pass the test to obtain a new drivers license in Florida. Eligibility guidelines for getting drivers license credentials are different for drivers who are younger than 18-years-old. Candidates may apply for a Florida drivers license online, but must still visit a DMV office in person.

Documents Required to Apply for Drivers License in Florida

Learning how to get drivers license in Florida involves knowing which documents need to be submitted. Before any applicant receives a drivers license in FL, he or she must confirm his or her age and identity. In order to get an FL DHSMV drivers license, U.S. citizens can use their U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization, Certificate of Citizenship or Consular Report of Birth. Non-U.S. citizens can present other forms of identification, including a green card (form I-551), among other documents. Additionally, non-U.S. citizens must provide a document that proves their legal presence in the U.S.

The next document to get a drivers license in Florida must shows the applicant’s Social Security Number (SSN). For this DMV drivers license requirement, applicants typically use their Social Security card. However, new drivers license applicants can also use documents such as a 1099, paycheck, pay stub or W-2 form, among other documents. Florida drivers license applicants who do not have an SSN must provide a letter from the Social Security Administration that states they were never issued an SSN. Certain applicants classified as non-immigrants do not need to provide this letter.

The final documents required for a drivers license in Florida must prove the candidate’s residency in Florida. For this new drivers license requirement, applicants must present two documents that show their name and Florida address. Common types of residency documents include utility bills, bank statements and voter registration cards. Younger applicants can present these documents in a parent or guardian’s name to confirm their residency, since they typically do not have access to these types of official documentation.

Eligibility Requirements for a New Drivers License in Florida

To get a drivers license in Florida, applicants are required to meet certain basic eligibility requirements. Petitioners who plan on getting a drivers license in FL must first meet the following requirements:

  • Pass a Class E Knowledge exam
  • Pass the Driving Skills Test (road exam)
  • Take vision and hearing tests
  • Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course

Applicants younger than 18 years of age cannot apply for a drivers license without first holding a learners permit. These candidates can obtain a learners permit drivers license at 15 years of age, and they must hold it for at least one year before they can apply for a license. To get a full DHSMV drivers license, Minors must have 50 hours of driving experience, including 10 night hours. Petitioners must be at least 16 years of age to apply for and obtain a drivers license.

How to Apply for Drivers License in Florida

If an applicant wants to submit a drivers license application in Florida, he or she must make an appointment with a DHSMV drivers license office. Candidates can complete the application for a drivers license online before the appointment, or they may complete the application at the office. When the prospective driver arrives at the drivers license office, he or she must provide all the necessary documentation for age, identity, SSN, residency and citizenship. DMV drivers license applicants must also present proof of TLSAE course completion.

Florida drivers license applicants younger than 18 years of age must bring additional documentation. These drivers license application materials include include the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form, and, if the applicant completed the Class E Knowledge exam online, the Parent / Guardian On-line Test Proctoring form. Unmarried applicants younger than 18 years of age must also have a parent or guardian sign the Parental Consent – Minor Driver Applicant Form in front of a notary or a DHSMV representative.

Candidates can take the exams at the time of application. If they completed tests through an approved third-party provider, this driver license information will already appear in the DHLMSV system, so there is no need to bring proof of test completion in this case. Finally, applicants will pay an FL drivers license cost in order to obtain their new drivers license.

Restrictions on a New Florida Drivers License

Drivers who are younger than 18 years of age will have a few safety restrictions placed on their operator’s license. Drivers who are 16 years of age cannot operate a vehicle between the hours of 11 p.m. and 6 a.m., unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older. Drivers who are 17 years of age cannot drive between the house of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m., unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older.

It might also interest you: