How to Change Car Registration Address in Florida in Person
One of the best ways to learn how to change address on registration in FL is to visit the local county tax collector’s office and meet with a representative. When going into the tax collector office for a DMV car registration address change, drivers should always be sure to have their Florida drivers license. They may also want to bring in the present vehicle registration to help the office verify the information. Drivers will fill out a Florida Change of Address Car Registration Application while they are in the office. To complete an address change on car registration in Florida, drivers will be required to pay a fee.
How to Change Car Registration Address in Florida Online
Drivers can go ahead and submit the Florida Change of Address Car Registration Application online if they are looking for a quick and convenient way to update their information. Drivers changing car registration addresses in FL can use the Florida DHSMV online platform, which also allows drivers to renew or replace registrations. In order to access their profile and change a car registration address, drivers will have to provide some information, including:
- Date of birth.
- Street address currently on file with the DHSMV.
- Social Security Number (SSN).
Once the FL Change of Address Car Registration Application has been submitted, the driver will pay the change of address fee. Drivers who perform an address change on car registration online will also have to pay a convenience charge, which is currently $2, for the entire transaction.
At this time, drivers will also update their mailing address so that the updated registration is sent to the driver’s correct address. Drivers typically receive the updated registration within seven to 10 business days. If a driver does not receive his or her updated registration within 20 days, he or she may contact the local tax collector’s office.
When are you required to change a car registration address in Florida?
Changing car registration addresses is required in specific circumstances in the state of Florida. If a resident has moved inside the state, then a Florida Change of Address Car Registration Application must be filled out and submitted to a county tax collector’s office. If a resident moved to Florida from out of state, he or she will have to obtain a Florida license, title and registration. If a driver is from out of state and going to get the now state-issued drivers license, he or she may get the address change on the car’s registration completed at the same time.
How late can you change a car registration address in Florida without penalties?
Florida statutes 320.02 and 322.19 require a driver to change car registration address with the DHSMV within 30 days of moving into the new residence. However, drivers who move to Florida from another state must get a Florida drivers license, Florida title and Florida registration within 10 days of establishing residency in the state. If a driver fails to complete the address change on car registration within the time limit, then he or she may be issued some extra fines or be given other penalties.
Drivers must produce a license, registration and proof of insurance if pulled over in Florida. If the registration address is incorrect, the driver may experience additional legal consequences or penalties.
Once a driver submits the FL Change of Address Car Registration Application and has paid all fees, he or she will receive a new registration card with the information updated. Another thing to keep in mind is to go ahead and let the insurance companies know about the FL DMV car registration address change in order to make sure everything is current with the car insurance.